New Cabinet Member appointed

Cllr Ajda Ovat has been appointed as the new Cabinet Member for Communities.
Cabinet pic May 2024

Cllr Ovat has spent the last 12 months working as Deputy Mayor alongside former Mayor Cllr Buxton and met a large number of the community with her hard work and commitment.

The Northumberland Park ward councillor will now get to meet even more of our residents in her new role as she looks after a big portfolio that will include:

  • Crime prevention and reduction
  • Anti-Social Behaviour
  • Community cohesion and inclusion
  • Licensing and regulatory services
  • Youth justice (Joint with Cabinet Member for Children, Schools & Families)
  • Active citizenship and Voluntary & Community Sector

Cllr Ovat will be replacing Cllr Adam Jogee who we thank immensely for the major contribution he has brought to the role over the last two years.

Cllr Ovat said:

“I’m really excited to be joining such a dynamic Cabinet team at Haringey Council as the portfolio holder for Communities.

“My predecessor, Cllr Adam Jogee, has done a fantastic job in the role and I’m looking forward to building upon all his great work.

“This administration and the Cabinet team are an ambitious group and they want to bring about positive change and improvements for our residents and businesses. I’m keen to play my part in this process.

“Representation resonates with me personally, especially in a borough as diverse and multi-cultural as ours. I hope the fact that an Australian national with Kurdish heritage like me can attain a senior leadership position at the council encourages and inspires others to achieve similar success in their walks of life going forward.”

There has been another change to the cabinet with Cllr Sarah Williams taking over from Cllr Mike Hakata as Deputy Leader of the Council.

Cllr Williams will also take on responsibility for council housebuilding in her portfolio as well as council housing services and the private sector housing.

Here is a list of the other committee chairs:

Chair of Alexandra Palace and Park Board: Cllr Emine Ibrahim

Vice-Chair of Alexandra Palace Park and Board: Cllr Sean O’Donovan

Chair of Audit Committee: Cllr Erdal Dogan

Vice-Chair of Audit Committee: Cllr Cathy Brennan

Chair of General Purposes: Cllr Cressida Johnson

Vice-Chair of General Purposes: Cllr Kaushika Amin

Chair of Licensing: Cllr Anna Abela

Vice-Chair of Licencing: Cllr Sheila Peacock

Chair of Pensions Committee: Cllr George Dunstall

Vice-Chair of Pensions Committee: Cllr Tammy Hymas

Chair of Standards: Cllr Ibrahim Ali

Chair of Strategic Planning Committee: Cllr Barbara Blake

Vice-Chair of Strategic Planning Committee: Cllr Reg Rice

Chair of Overview and Scrutiny: Cllr Matt White

Scrutiny Panel Chair: Cllr Lester Buxton

Scrutiny Panel Chair: Cllr Makbule Gunes

Scrutiny Panel Chair: Cllr Alex Worrell

Haringey People Extra

Stay in the know by signing up to Haringey People Extra

Haringey People Extra is our weekly e-newsletter packed with local news, events and updates.


Sign up here